The Foundation for the Horse Announces Student Award Winners
The Foundation for the Horse has awarded $5,000 Zoetis Scholarships to five exceptional veterinary students pursuing a future career in equine practice:

  • Jessica Conner, Western University of Health Sciences, class of 2023;
  • Hannah Fain, Colorado State University, class of 2023;
  • Meghan Marner, Iowa State University, class of 2022;
  • Deianira Smith, University of Arizona, class of 2023; and
  • Bailey Ziegler, Iowa State University, class of 2022.

Now in its ninth year, the Zoetis scholarship program, managed through The Foundation, rewards veterinary students at colleges of veterinary medicine in the U.S., Canada, Caribbean, and Europe for their academic excellence, leadership in their school and American Association of Equine Practitioners student chapter, and their long-term goals in equine practice. Applicants apply during their second and third year of school and must also have the support of American Association of Equine Practitioners’ (AAEP) members and their clinical instructors.

“We are proud to partner again with The Foundation to offer this opportunity benefiting new equine veterinarians,” said Jeannie Jeffery, Zoetis equine business unit head. “We are thankful for yet another chance to showcase Zoetis’ ongoing commitment to horse health and to the veterinary profession, especially during these challenging times.”

The awards were presented December 7 prior to the Frank J. Milne State-of-the-Art Lecture during the AAEP’s 67th Annual Convention in Nashville, Tennessee.

The AAEP Foundation, the forerunner of The Foundation for the Horse, established the Zoetis Scholarship in 2013. The award is made possible through gifts made by AAEP Educational Partner Zoetis’ charitable arm, Zoetis Foundation.

For more information about this program and other scholarships offered through The Foundation for the Horse, visit The Foundation’s website.