Nominations are now open for the 17th annual Equine Industry Vision Award (EIVA). Sponsored by Zoetis since its inception, the award recognizes innovation across the entire equine market, as well as ingenuity and service.

Award nominees can include individuals and/or organizations. Candidates can be considered for a single outstanding visionary achievement or for sustained outstanding contributions that have made a profound impact on the equine industry. Anyone is eligible to be nominated, renominated, or to nominate a candidate for the award. Nominations are due Feb. 5, 2018.

The 2018 Equine Industry Vision Award recipient will be announced during a breakfast ceremony sponsored by Zoetis on June 15, 2018, at the American Horse Publications (AHP) Equine Media Conference in Hunt Valley, Maryland. The winner will receive a lead crystal trophy created by master artisan Peter Wayne Yenawine and commissioned by Zoetis. Additionally, the name of the award recipient is engraved on the EIVA Perpetual Trophy on display at Zoetis headquarters, in Parsippany, New Jersey.

“Zoetis is honored to recognize those who are committed to advancing the equine industry with this prestigious award,” said Sally Amtmann, Zoetis’ senior equine marketing manager, Zoetis. “The award aligns with our mission to improve equine wellness and welfare for all horses, and we are proud to carry on the tradition of the Equine Industry Vision Award for the seventeenth consecutive year.”

To request a nomination ballot for the 2018 EIVA, contact Judy Lincoln, the AHP’s EIVA coordinator, at 386/760-7743 or Nomination information is also available at All entry materials are due Feb. 5, 2018.

Past recipients of the EIVA include:

  • 2017—Sydney Knott, founder, president, and CEO of Horses4Heroes, for increasing the public’s exposure to horses and growing involvement in the equine industry.
  • 2016—Gary L. Carpenter, commissioner and CEO of the National Reining Horse Association, for increasing involvement with horses and working across disciplines in the equine industry.
  • 2015—Gayle Ecker, director of Equine Guelph, for her work in connecting people, especially youth, with horses.
  • 2014—Patti Colbert for her numerous contributions to the equine industry including marketing Time to Ride, an initiative of the American Horse Council’s marketing alliance formed to connect people with horses and designed to encourage horse-interested consumers to enjoy the benefits of horse activities.
  • 2013—Professional Association of Therapeutic Horsemanship (PATH Int’l) for their work in promoting safe and effective therapeutic horseback riding for individuals with special needs throughout the world.
  • 2012—Equine Land Conservation Resource for helping preserve land for the future of equestrian sports, recreation, and industry.
  • 2011—Robert Cacchione, executive director and co-founder of the Intercollegiate Horse Show Association, for his vision to start an organization that would allow any college student to participate in horse shows, regardless of financial status or riding level.
  • 2010—John Nicholson for his work as the executive director of the Kentucky Horse Park and as president of the World Equestrian Games 2010 Foundation including his leadership in bringing the 2010 Alltech FEI World Equestrian Games to the United States.
  • 2009—Charlotte Brailey Kneeland, founder and director of the American Riding Instructors Association, for her vision to promote and certify riding instructors across the United States.
  • 2008—Sally Swift (1913-2009), the founder of the Centered Riding, for having a revolutionary impact on horseback riding worldwide in the 20th century.
  • 2007—David O’Connor, for his Olympic accomplishments and his work as president of the United States Equestrian Federation.
  • 2006—Stanley F. Bergstein (1924-2011), executive vice president of Harness Tracks of America, for his contributions to the Standardbred racing industry and lifetime of accomplishments.
  • 2005—John Ryan Gaines (1928-2005) for his countless contributions to the horse world that continue to reach across disciplines.
  • 2004—American Quarter Horse Association for the organization’s vast impact on the equine experience worldwide.
  • 2003—Don Burt (1930-2012) for more than 50 years of living and working as a member of the horse industry and his efforts across disciplines.
  • 2002—Alexander Mackay-Smith (1903-1998) for his broad contributions to the whole of the equine industry.