Synovial Joints and How They Work

First we’ll look at how the horse’s synovial joints are constructed, then we’ll outline where they are located, the functions they serve, and some of the problems that can develop.

No account yet? Register


There are 205 bones in the horse’s skeleton. Twenty of these bones are in each foreleg and 20 in each hind limb, for a grand total of 80 bones in the four equine legs. The leg bones do not function independently. Each is connected or aligned with one or more other bones, allowing the horse to lift, bend, and flex its legs. This ability allows the horse to travel across the ground, absorbing concussion as it does so. The spot where one or more bones join is the joint. This installment of the anatomy and physiology series focuses on these critical areas of movement.

Types of Joints

There are three types or classifications of equine joints. They are:

Synovial joints–These are the movable joints and the ones most apt to sustain injury or be afflicted with disease. An example of a synovial joint is the carpus (knee), which actually contains three joints and multiple bones. In a manner of speaking, the synovial joints are the horse’s ball bearings. A synovial joint consists of two bone ends that are both covered by articular cartilage. The cartilage within the joint is smooth and resilient, allowing for frictionless movement. Each joint capsule also contains an inner lining called the synovial membrane, which secretes synovial fluid to lubricate the joints

Create a free account with to view this content. is home to thousands of free articles about horse health care. In order to access some of our exclusive free content, you must be signed into

Start your free account today!

Already have an account?
and continue reading.


Written by:

Les Sellnow was a prolific freelance writer based near Riverton, Wyoming. He specialized in articles on equine research, and operated a ranch where he raised horses and livestock. He authored several fiction and nonfiction books, including Understanding Equine Lameness and Understanding The Young Horse. He died in 2023.

Related Articles

Stay on top of the most recent Horse Health news with

FREE weekly newsletters from

Sponsored Content

Weekly Poll

sponsored by:

What lameness issues has your horse experienced? Select all that apply.
268 votes · 536 answers

Readers’ Most Popular

Sign In

Don’t have an account? Register for a FREE account here.

Need to update your account?

You need to be logged in to fill out this form

Create a free account with!