Auli Farwa Receives Haggin Cup at 2015 Tevis Ride

The 15-year-old Arabian gelding has completed all 62 rides he’s started throughout his career, including six Tevis Cups.

No account yet? Register


After hours of observing the top ten finishing horses over the course of the 100-mile Tevis Cup ride, which took place Aug. 1, the cup committee named Auli Farwa (or "Far"), a 15-year-old Arabian gelding, and rider Jenni Smith of Moraga, California, the 2015 Haggin Cup winners.

The Haggin Cup, created in 1964, honors the horse in the most superior condition and recognizes the rider’s sportsmanship and horsemanship.

Smith and Far finished fifth, only 54 minutes behind Tevis Cup winners Potato Richardson and SMR Filouette. This was Smith’s tenth Tevis completion.

Overall, 45% of starters in the 2015 ride completed the course. Ninety horses finished within 24 hours, while 110 were “pulled” or eliminated from the event

Create a free account with to view this content. is home to thousands of free articles about horse health care. In order to access some of our exclusive free content, you must be signed into

Start your free account today!

Already have an account?
and continue reading.


Written by:

Marsha Hayes has been covering endurance, trail, and other equine topics since 2005. She believes every horse has a story.

Related Articles

Stay on top of the most recent Horse Health news with

FREE weekly newsletters from

Sponsored Content

Weekly Poll

sponsored by:

When do you begin to prepare/stock up on products/purchase products for these skin issues?
56 votes · 56 answers

Readers’ Most Popular

Sign In

Don’t have an account? Register for a FREE account here.

Need to update your account?

You need to be logged in to fill out this form

Create a free account with!