The 57th Annual Convention of the American Association of Equine Practitioners (AAEP), held Nov. 18-22 in San Antonio, Texas, attracted nearly 6,400 veterinary professionals, guests, and exhibitors, ranking the meeting among the top five conventions by attendance sponsored by the association. The AAEP Convention continues as the world’s largest education event for equine veterinarians.

"This was one of the AAEP’s best-ever conventions for so many reasons," said David Foley, AAEP executive director. "Attendance was very strong. Dr. John Mitchell (DVM) and the Educational Programs Committee put together yet another outstanding scientific program and the city of San Antonio rolled out the red carpet. I’m very appreciative of the outstanding work of both our staff and volunteers to make this event happen and run so smoothly."

Highlights from the 2011 convention include:

  • Installation of new officers. John S. Mitchell, DVM, of Boca Raton, Fla., was installed as the 58th president. Other 2012 officers are Ann E. Dwyer, DVM, Scottsville, N.Y., president elect; Jeff A. Blea, DVM, Sierra Madre, Calif., vice president; James Morehead, DVM, Lexington, Ky., treasurer; and William Moyer, DVM, College Station, Texas, immediate past president.
  • Installation of new board members. New members of the board of directors are: District I – Carolyn M. Weinberg, DVM, Newtown, Conn; District II – Steven S. Trostle, DVM, Earlysville, Va.; District III – Margo L. Macpherson, DVM, Gainesville, Fla.; District IX – Elizabeth S. Metcalf, DVM, She